Kyle Busch wins the pole for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. (Daniel Shirey/Getty Images)

INDIANAPOLIS– Two-time and defending race winner, Kyle Busch, claims his season leading fourth pole position of the year on Saturday afternoon and will lead the field to the green flag on Sunday Brickyard 400 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver out paced the field for his second pole of the season (48.051/187.301). The driver nicknamed “Rowdy” joins Jimmie Johnson as the only two drivers to win the Brickyard 400 from pole position.

Busch is also trying to become the first three-time consecutive winner in Brickyard 400 history and to end his winless streak Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series that dates back to this race last year.

Qualifying in the second position is the 2003 race winner, Kevin Harvick (48.301/186.322 mph). The Stewart-Haas Racing got loose exiting turn 1 on his lap and played catch-up for a second place drive. The driver nicknamed “Happy” finished sixth in the event last year.

2010 race winner, Jamie McMurray, qualified in the third position. Jimmie Johnson in quest for his fifth triumph at Indy starts in the fourth position. Denny Hamlin rounds out the rest of the top-five.

Martin Truex Jr., Joey Logano, Ryan Newman, Erik Jones, Ryan Blaney, Brad Keselowski and Kurt Busch complete the rest of the top-12.

Notables who failed to reach the final round in qualifying include; Dale Earnhardt Jr. rolls off P13, in his final start at the Brickyard in an attempt to join his father as Brickyard 400 winners. Matt Kenseth starts P14, with 2011 winner Paul Menard rolling off in P17 and Kyle Larson qualifying in P25.

The next on track activity for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series is the Brickyard 400 from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, July 22, 2:30 pm/et (NBC, IMS, Sirius XM).

Qualifying Results

Pages: 1 2
error: Content is protected !!